Concert Choir presenting Home Concert March 24

The Jamestown College Concert Choir will present its Home Concert at 2 p.m. on Sunday, March 24 at the Basilica of St. James, Jamestown. The concert is free and open to the public. A freewill offering will be received.

The Choir visited Georgia, North Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, West Virginia, Indiana, Illinois and Minnesota on the tour March 10-18.

For more than 90 years, the Choir has had a reputation for excellence in choral performance and has toured throughout the United States and Europe. In May 2010, the Choir toured China, performing at Beijing Central Conservatory, Xi’an Conservatory, Shanghai Normal University, and Hong Kong Baptist University. It was the 10th international tour in the Choir’s history and the first tour to China.

J. Aaron McDermid is Director of Choral Activities at Jamestown College. Before coming to Jamestown, McDermid was the conductor and artistic director of the Tucson Masterworks Chorale. Establishing a reputation as a composer of both challenging and accessible works, McDermid has written 15 commissioned works for groups such as The National Lutheran Choir and The Dale Warland Singers.

Choir members are Lara Hermanson, Nate Kopperud and Jacob Niemeier, all Jamestown; Christopher Koppinger and Jessie Steinwand, both Bismarck; Mark Lybeck, Cando; Katie Roehm, Carpio; Brandon Gray, Dickinson; Beth Paulson, Fargo; Emily Greuel, Grand Forks; Rachel Nyhus and Tracy Ortman, both Harvey; Annika Vernon, Hazen; Logan Caldwell, Hettinger; Jessee Boyle, Kensal; Taylor Lammers and Philip Rostad, both Kindred; Sarah Holen, LaMoure; Chandler Germundson, Mayville; Lindsey Kuntz, Richardton; Anne Schmaltz, Rugby; Heather Erbele, Streeter; Joelle Reiser, Washburn; Jordan Shive, West Fargo; Moriah Juhl, Williston; Devin Braaten, Haines, Alaska; Angela Langton, Akeley, Minn.; Brandon Bodien, Becker, Minn.; Chris Haakenson, Bemidji, Minn.; Jeffrey Prentice, Bloomington, Minn.; Sydney Johnson, Cambridge, Minn.; Noah Fagerlund, Crookston, Minn.; Courtney Diestler, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Bob Heinzen, Grand Rapids, Minn.; DJ Ruby, Long Prairie, Minn.; Kelly Wolbert, Milaca, Minn.; Maggie Seter, New Prague, Minn.; Daniel Arens, Osakis, Minn.; Ashley Domino, Park Rapids, Minn.; Paige Meyer, Perham, Minn.; Drew Boraas, St. Paul, Minn.; Warren Abrahamson, Malta, Mont.; Betsy Holte and Jacoby Holte, both Poplar, Mont.; Lexy Weber, Britton, S.D.

Examples of aid include:
  • Academic Scholarships
  • Athletic Scholarships
  • Fine Arts Performance Awards
  • Journey Awards

  • 1,000 students from 37 states and 17 countries

  • 13:1 student-faculty ratio

  • On-campus residence halls

  • 98% average placement rate in 2010 & 2011